

Minutes of last Councillors' Forum meeting

Councillors' Forum

Thursday, 20 October 2022

Hybrid Meeting - 18 Smith Square and Online

Attendance

An attendance list is attached as Appendix A

Item Decisions and actions

1 Welcome, Declarations of Interest

The Chairman welcomed members to the forum.

The Chairman congratulated the following members for their peerage nominations:

- Teresa O'Neill OBE Leader of the Council in London Borough of Bexley, Vice Chair on London Councils; Deputy Chair of LGA
- Sharon Taylor OBE Leader of Stevenage Borough Council, various roles previously at LGA including membership of Executive Advisory Board
- Dr Fiona Twycross Deputy Mayor of London for Fire and Resilience, Deputy Chair of the LGA's Fire Services Management Committee
- Kuldip Singh Sahota Labour Councillor at Telford and Wrekin Council

2 Chairman's Update

The Chairman introduced his report updating on recent work of the LGA.

3 LGA Board Chair Reports

The Chairman invited the following Chairs to update on the work of their Board:

- Community Wellbeing Board Cllr David Fothergill
- Culture, Tourism and Sport Board Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson

4 Any other business that Chairman considers urgent

The Chairman invited Cllr Andrew Western, Chair of the Resources Board, to give a presentation and lead a discussion on cost pressures work of the LGA, including the LGA submission: Government's Medium Fiscal Plan.



Key asks included in the submission related to the following:

- Adult social care
- Children's social care
- Cost of living
- Local growth

Members discussed the following topics:

- Interest rates impact on capital programmes and housing projects
- Costs pressures impacts on cost recovery within planning
- The impact on the Housing Revenue Account business plans
- Support for children with special educational needs and disabilities

5 Digest of the last meeting held on 21 July 2022

The digest of the last meeting was agreed as a correct record.



Appendix A - Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chairman Vice-Chairman Deputy-chairman	Cllr James Jamieson OBE Cllr Joe Harris Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	Central Bedfordshire Council Cotswold District Council North Kesteven District Council
Members	Cllr Anntoinette Bramble Cllr Craig Browne Cllr Penny Channer Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen Cllr Kelham Cooke Cllr Hannah Dalton Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr David Fothergill Cllr John Fuller OBE Cllr Keith Glazier Cllr Peter Golds CBE Cllr Georgia Gould Cllr Damien Greenhalgh Cllr Mike Haines Cllr Simon Henig CBE Cllr Richard Henry Cllr Georgina Hill Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe Cllr Anthony Hunt Cllr Nicholas Jones Cllr Heather Kidd Cllr Rory Love OBE Cllr Vince Maple Cllr Colin Noble Cllr Colin Noble Cllr I Shabir Pandor Cllr Roger Phillips Cllr Leigh Redman Cllr Oliver Ryan Cllr Oliver Ryan Cllr I Sidget Smith Cllr Lucy Stephenson Cllr Bridget Smith Cllr Lucy Stephenson Cllr Rachel Sutton Cllr Caroline Topping Cllr Caroline Topping Cllr Caroline Topping Cllr Caroline Topping Cllr Caroline Topping Cllr Roger Phillips	Hackney London Borough Council Cheshire East Council Maldon District Council Breckland District Council South Kesteven District Council Plymouth City Council Somerset County Council South Norfolk District Council East Sussex County Council Tower Hamlets Council Tower Hamlets Council and Derbyshire County Council High Peak Borough Council and Derbyshire County Council Teignbridge District Council Durham County Council Stevenage Borough Council Bradford Metropolitan District Council Torfaen County Borough Council Bury Metropolitan Borough Shropshire Council Suffolk County Council Surrey County Council Somerset County Council Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council North West Leicestershire District Council Chesterfield Borough Council Suth Cambridgeshire District Council Rutland County Council Suffolk County Council Suth Cambridgeshire District Council Chesterfield Borough Council Rutland County Council Suth Cambridgeshire District Council Rutland County Council Sutfolk County Council Central Bedfordshire Council Cannock Chase District Council
Apologies	Cllr Sue Baxter Cllr Richard Bingley Cllr Abi Brown	Bromsgrove District Council Plymouth City Council Stoke-on-Trent City Council



Cllr Louise Gittins Cllr Claire Holland Cllr Brigid Jones Cllr Colin Mann Cllr Michael Payne Cllr Andrew Proctor Mayor Marvin Rees Cllr Darren Rodwell

Cllr Vikki Slade

Cllr Timothy Swift MBE Cllr Linda Taylor Baroness Taylor of Stevenage OBE Cllr Sharon Thompson Cllr Michael Wilcox **Cheshire West and Chester Council** Lambeth London Borough Council Birmingham City Council Caerphilly County Borough Council Gedling Borough Council Norfolk County Council **Bristol City Council** Barking and Dagenham London Borough Council Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council **Cornwall Council** Stevenage Borough Council

Birmingham City Council Lichfield District Council